Hong Kong 90 Newly-Elected Members Of The 7th Legislative Council Held An Oath Ceremony


The swearing-in ceremony of the members of the 7th Legislative Council of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region will be held at 11 am on January 3, 2022, in the Chamber of the Hong Kong Legislative Council Complex. The Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, Carrie Lam, administers oaths to members. On January 12, the Seventh Legislative Council held its first meeting. The seventh term of the Legislative Council begins on January 1, and the term of office is four years.

   According to the procedure, the elected members must stand facing the national flag and the regional flag, play and sing the national anthem, and then take the oath before the stage one by one. After the oath-taking ceremony is completed, the SAR government will announce the list of legislative council members whose oaths are valid.

   Voting for the election of the seventh legislative council of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region ended smoothly on December 19, 2021. This is the first legislative council election after the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region’s electoral system has been improved. 153 candidates running for 90 seats, including 40 members elected by the Election Committee, 30 members elected by functional groups, and 20 members directly elected by districts.